---
title: "Duplicate a lead"
description: "Duplicate an existing lead to create a new opportunity with the same client, for an upsell, a cross-sell or a renewal."
url: https://help.nocrm.io/en/articles/101-duplicate-a-lead
collection: "Lead Creation Mechanisms"
updated: 2026-10-28
language: en
alternates: [de, it, pt-br, es, fr]
---

# Duplicate a lead

Duplicate an existing lead to create a new opportunity with the same client, for an upsell, a cross-sell or a renewal.

When you [set up your sales process](https://www.nocrm.io/academy/how-to-set-up-a-consistent-sales-process), plan how you will manage upsells, cross-sells and renewals with your existing clients.

If you have a new opportunity with the same client, you don't need to create the lead all over again: simply duplicate the existing one.

## How do you duplicate a lead?

Follow these steps:

1.  Open the lead you want to duplicate.
    
2.  Click the **Actions** button.
    
3.  Select **Duplicate Lead**.
    
    ![The Test 2 lead detail panel has its More menu open, with “Duplicate this lead” highlighted. Visible: Test 2, Won, Qualifié, €4,200.00 100% 19/07/2023, Quote / invoice, Details.](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/sk48YvyBg2Ql3tqMPS4OubKnpGxv5qnA514p4FOUQE4sGqwolyGhFV2xIar71IuqoinANuxP4u3.png)
    
4.  Click **Create Client Folder**: noCRM asks you to create a [client folder](https://help.nocrm.io/en/articles/73-default-client-folder-structure.md) before creating the new lead associated with the same client.
    

> **Info:** **Note**: Only the tags and the default fields are duplicated. Comments can't be duplicated.

## What is a client folder?

A [client folder](https://help.nocrm.io/en/articles/113-client-folders.md) gathers all the leads associated with the same client. It's ideal for companies that make more than one sale with the same client, and very useful to understand your relationship with each client at a glance.

> **Success:** **Best practice**: Duplicate the existing lead for each upsell, cross-sell or renewal: all the deals with the same client stay grouped in the same client folder.
